To be eligible for DD services:

According to state law (AS.47.80.900 (7)), the term “developmental disability” (DD) means an individual with a severe, chronic disability that:

  • Is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or combination of mental and physical impairments;
  • Is manifested before the individual attains age 22;
  • Is likely to continue indefinitely;
  • Results in substantial functional limitations in three or more of the following areas of major life activity; 
    • Self care;
    • Receptive and expressive language;
    • Learning;
    • Mobility;
    • Self-direction;
    • Capacity for independent living;
    • Economic self-sufficiency; and
    • Reflects the person’s need for a combination and sequence of special, interdisciplinary, or generic assistance, supports or other services that are of lifelong or extended duration and are individually planned and coordinated.

Examples of types of developmental disabilities are cerebral palsy, autism and seizure disorder.  Mental illness and Fetal Alcohol Syndrome may also be developmental disabilities.  However, the disability must result in substantial functional limitation and meet the other criteria in the definition in order to qualify as a DD.